Timing is Everything

Posted on November 4, 2012

0


There was this girl I was absolutely head over heels for a few years ago who told me that, “timing is everything.” What she was really telling me was, “I’m scared of this relationship, and I’m about to totally freak out on you and push you away because I’m not ready” but the line stuck with me. Timing genuinely is everything.

Doing things in a particular order is important too. You plant seeds before you harvest or as my mother used to tell me, “You can’t make withdrawls [from a bank] without making deposits.” The latter was mostly meant in regards to relationships, but it applies to a lot of things.

What it means for me right now is: David isn’t going to write a book until he’s ready. I’m not ready.

So I decided the timing for NaNoWriMo wasn’t so good, after all. I’m just not ‘there’ yet. The idea was stressing me out and pushing me from wanting to even persist with writing the blog, so I decided to just let it go for right now.

Without giving away the “ending” too much (or at least revealing my master plan *drums fingers togther Montgomery Burns style*), here is kinda what I am thinking for right now:

1.) Keep blogging. The discipline of writing once per day is good. I can already see the positive effects of maintaining the effort, connecting with others, etc. I believe this is NaBloPoMo (National Blog Posting Month), though I don’t intend on daily blogs for just a month.

2.) I’m not quite off the hook for writing a book. And apparently, I am also a poet… and didn’t know it. First up, I want to get a copy of No Plot? No Problem! by Chris Baty, which seems to be THE official NaNoWriMo guide. I need to digest the idea before I commit a month to writing a book. I also need to figure out which book I can write first with minimal prep, as a lot of my ideas require some study before I can address how I can layer them effectively.

3.) Figure out how to market this thing. An established content routine will make it easier to establish connections and decide what angle I should take for presenting it on other social platforms like Facebook.

4.) Start a geek coalition. I already have a few people in mind. The implementation is still in the air, but I want to get together a few other geeks for either guest blogs or a side mega-geek blog. Win-win all the way around.

5.) Establish the content routine. I want to leave things open for spontaneity, of course, but I want to expand the type of content that I offer. I don’t just want to include, regularly, certain types of content, but more original David creations, such as photographs and videos. (Actually, I’d like to get things set-up where I write multiple entries at once and have WordPress stagger them out. Hey, shut up; that’s not cheating!)

5.1) Come up with monthly themes. I really liked what the domestic fringe did with her 31 Days of Living by Faith series, though I am not trying to emulate what she did, perse. (But nod worthy, for sure.)

5.2) Develop a “bucket list”. I love Lesley Carter’s blog, but I kinda hate it too. It challenges me and it’s like an oyster trying to make a pearl out of sand. It’s kind of an irritant to figure out what I genuinely want to do and how to afford to do it. I already have some ideas for next year though that I’m excited about, should make for good content on the blog.

Posted in: General, NaNoWriMo