Galactic Freedom Awareness Day: Midweek RE:geek and Daily Prompt Response Combo!

Posted on November 1, 2012

1


So today’s daily prompt is easy enough: Invent a holiday! Explain how and why everyone should celebrate.

Truth is, I already invented a holiday that I dubbed “Galactic Freedom Awareness Day”. It takes place annually on the Saturday prior to Thanksgiving. The idea is to have a potluck, break bread with friends and then watch Return of the Jedi and celebrate not being under the heel of a space tyrant.

I created this a few years ago because I very nearly always spend the holidays alone. I don’t really have much in the way of family, none that I have seen my adult life anyway, and spending it with other people’s family, frankly, kinda sucks. People are always well meaning with their invites, and I am always thankful for the genuine consideration, but I always feel like the charity case. I just can’t do it anymore.

So a few years back, I decided to do something positive by having a gathering of friends with a potluck meal to celebrate the holidays, while not emulating Christmas or Thanksgiving too closely. I figured the most fun  way to approach it was by “celebrating” the fictitious victory over the Empire; I mean, you gotta figure the new Republic probably had a commemerative day to celebrate the end of the war, right? So far, it has been a lot of fun, plus it gives me something to look forward to during the holiday season.

So, mark your calendar for November 17th this year and feel free to join me for the 3rd annual GFA Day 2012. 🙂

Be sure to invite your friends over for Galatic Freedom Awareness Day!

Be sure to invite your friends for Galatic Freedom Awareness Day!

