Midweek Geek Out (October 31) – Star Wars Edition

Posted on October 31, 2012

2


So I wasn’t intending to do an exclusive Star Wars Geek Out anytime soon, but we just had a big announcement yesterday…

1.) Disney purchased Lucasfilms for $4.1 billion dollars and announced Episode 7 was in the planning stage. I am quite certain I am not the only Gen X fan who was immediately concerned that Disney had purchased the absolute sacred of the sacred kingdoms of geekdom… but then remembered they can’t do anything worse than what Lucas has been doing since 1999. Considering the Disney / Star Wars collaborations already in existence, I didn’t find this too surprising. My favorite pre-purchase collaboration, of course, being Yoda / Sitch…

disney, star wars, yoda, stich, episode 7

I mean, the prequel trilogy was horrible on all fronts. HORRID. I got the 6 movie saga on bluray despite my better judgement and made myself rewatch from Episode 1 through 6, and the dialogue is absolutely cringe worthy in 1-3. Silly plot, silly characters, silly action sequences. Say what you want, the confrontation between Luke and Vader in Empire Strikes Back is serious business, one of my favorite scenes in cinema. Other than a few gems here and there, such as Ewan McGregor, Liam Neeson and Ray Parks (Darth Maul) plus some absolutely fantastic archetectural and spaceship designs (which is Lucas’ strength), the whole prequel trilogy is almost a parody of its former glory, almost as if Lucas despised his own creation and fanbase and wanted to see just how much the fans would shell out for his crap.

Of course, he didn’t stop with carelessly slapping together a trio of cinematic abortions; he even back to formula and made drastic changes to the original trilogy. And it wasn’t like Crystal Pepsi, where the fanbase was like “Eww.” and we got to go back to the original formula; he continuously ignores the fanbase, seemingly regarding them with some disdain, and makes more changes to the story with every new release of the movies. He even refused to include the original theatrical versions with the blurays.

Given that Disney owns Marvel, and Marvel Studios just managed to pull off one of the most impressive hail Marys in film with 5 movies culminating into The Avengers, I think we have can have some hope that the Star Wars franchise will regain its credibility. If they really want to ingratiate themselves to the fans, they’ll wipe the prequel trilogy from canon (I already have) and release some original trilogy love. Hey, I can hope…

Of course, not everything Star Wars related since the original trilogy has been garbage…

2.) Final season of Clone Wars?

I really enjoy The Clone Wars on Cartoon Network. I really didn’t have high expectations for it given Lucas’ emphasis on making money over producing quality, but it seems to me that Dave Filoni or some combination of staff on that show have really fought to build some credibility with the fans, especially the older fans such as myself. The characters are fantastic; Ahsoka, Cad Bane and others are welcome additions to canon, and it never ceases to amaze me just how much more likeable and relatable animated Anakin has been versus the real life version.

Season 5 is presently underway, and if trailers are any indication, this is going to be an awesome, awesome season. Jedi have already fallen, and these are Jedi that the Clone Wars has made such an effort to give some life and depth to. Unlike Episode 3 where unknown Jedi fall (and we don’t really care), these deaths mean a bit more in this confict we’ve invested in for the past few years.

While no official announcement has been made, Hasbro (of which Lucas owns 25%, last I checked) has “suggested” that they think this will be the final season. If true, it would make sense why there has been no official confirmation one way or the other. The biggest question since the beginning has been: what will be the fate of Ahsoka Tano? We already know she is not present by the conclusion of the Clone Wars, and, as has been suggested since Anakin was introduced to his padawan, it seems very likely that her death will seal his decline into the Dark Side.

If this is the final season, I would rather not know; I don’t want to be expecting her to bite it every episode. A lot to look forward to though; this trailer should be enough to make any fanboy squee.

That about does it for this Geekout. If you have anything you’d like for me to sound off on next week or have any input on today’s topics, feel free to drop me a comment. 🙂

