Mental Prep for NaNoWriMo #2: Displacement

Posted on October 29, 2012

0


“Frankenstorm” is making its way through the area. While we’re not directly in its path here, it’s definitely making its presence known. Power is out at my humble abode, and flooding was already becoming an issue more than 12 hours before it was supposed to get really messy, so I made the judgement call to dodge work last night. Until I can afford a car that turns into a boat or a submarine, I’ll opt to play it a bit safe with my only means of transportation.

I’m at a friend’s house, and you’d think this would be prime time to be productive considering I am the only one awake, but I’m finding it hard to really focus on anything of value. This is my 3rd start on a blog on the iPad, and I ended trashing the previous two attempts and playing Smallworld instead. Hey, that game rocks; don’t judge me. (Seriously, best board game ever. EVER.)

Not that the blog writing, in general, hasn’t been gratifying. I mean, sure, it’s really for my own benefit; it really has been helping me get my mind and heart right for what comes next. I won’t lie though; the feedback really is a big payoff, and considering I am only one week transitoning into writing on a nearly daily basis, the response has been pretty positive so far. Thank you to everyone for reading so far.

But, as far as being productive, it’s always harder when it isn’t your own space. Truthfully, I should be reading; I have an idea of where I want to go with my NaNoWriMo. I absolutely love Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist, and I’d like to write a fantasy in a similar vein to that, rather than using the overdone and cliche archetypes that inundate that genre. I just don’t quite have the depth of understanding of the cultures I would like to emulate needed to make it work the way I want. I have a deep respect for anthropology; I especially respect any work of fiction that takes the time to develop an adequate sense of culture, religion, history, art, etc.

I would be interested to hear from those who have already participated in a NaNoWriMo; how much attention to detail do you concern yourself with ahead of time? Do you stick to lighter subjects that don’t require a lot of ambient information? Or is it possible to just pump out a story and add those touches later?

I might try to come up with another, simpler idea for next month, or I am just going to have to wing it.

Posted in: General, NaNoWriMo