Daily Prompt Retort – What’s the one thing you hope other people never say about you?

Posted on October 25, 2012

0


I nearly titled this the Daily Prompt Holla Back, but as we all know… I ain’t no holla back girl.

Question of the day: What’s the one thing you hope other people never say about you?

I can answer this without thinking, easily: “David sure is a nice guy.”

There are certainly worse things that can be said about a person, but those are not the things I actively resist. I am simply not those things by virtue of my character.

“Nice”, in my mind, is a traping of the passive. Nice is not really a virtue at all; all too often, it is the fasade of the non-confrontational, the trait generally attributed to those who never push back. I mean, what do the neighbors usually say about serial killers? “Wow, he was such a nice guy…”

I’m not worried about being perceived as a serial killer, but I would rather it be said of me that I was the one who confronted the root of issues openly and without fear but not without compassion or consideration. I don’t even mind being considered the asshole occasionally; to me, that misunderstanding at least means my efforts are not in the wrong direction.

When my funeral comes around, I want at least one person to say “David kicked the asses that needed to be kicked.” If anybody says, “Wow, yeah, uh… he was a nice guy,” please… snatch the microphone and slap the piss out of them for me.

Posted in: Daily Prompt